We meet the 1st Wednesday of the month at 6:00pm

  • The Appeal

    We will discuss “The Appeal” at 6pm on Wednesday, February 1.

    The film director Jean-Luc Godard once said every story has a beginning, middle and end, but not always in that order. The Appeal by Janice Hallett reverse engineers the mystery insofar as the clues come first THEN the dead body. So, while you are wondering Whodunnit?, you are ALSO wondering Who has it been done to?. As the story unfolds, we realize each of the characters has reason to kill or be killed. We were surprised the whole way.

    INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER
    Named a Best Book of 2022 by The New York TimesAir Mail, and more!

    “[W]itty, original…a delight.” —ThNew York Times

    Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell, this international bestseller and “dazzlingly clever” (The Sunday Times, London) murder mystery follows a community rallying around a sick child—but when escalating lies lead to a dead body, everyone is a suspect.

    The Fairway Players, a local theatre group, is in the midst of rehearsals when tragedy strikes the family of director Martin Hayward and his wife Helen, the play’s star. Their young granddaughter has been diagnosed with a rare form of cancer, and with an experimental treatment costing a tremendous sum, their castmates rally to raise the money to give her a chance at survival.

    But not everybody is convinced of the experimental treatment’s efficacy—nor of the good intentions of those involved. As tension grows within the community, things come to a shocking head at the explosive dress rehearsal. The next day, a dead body is found, and soon, an arrest is made. In the run-up to the trial, two young lawyers sift through the material—emails, messages, letters—with a growing suspicion that the killer may be hiding in plain sight. The evidence is all there, between the lines, waiting to be uncovered.

    A wholly modern and gripping take on the epistolary novel, The Appeal is a “daring…clever, and funny” (The Times, London) debut for fans of Richard Osman and Lucy Foley.

  • Alive

    We will meet at 6pm Wednesday, January 4th to discuss Alive: Sixteen Men, Seventy-Two Days, and Insurmountable Odds—the Classic Adventure of Survival in the Andes

    #1 New York Times Bestseller

    “No one will come away unmoved by the book, and no one will be able to put it down…. There is no way of reading Alive without a heightened sense of one’s own life and its value.” — New Republic

    Sixteen Men, Seventy-Two Days, and Insurmountable Odds—the Classic Adventure of Survival in the Andes

    On October 12, 1972, an Uruguayan Air Force plane carrying a team of rugby players crashed in the remote snowy peaks of the Andes. Ten weeks later, only sixteen of the forty-five passengers were found alive. This is the story of those ten weeks spent in the shelter of the plane’s fuselage without food and with scarcely any hope of a rescue. The survivors protected and helped one another, and came to the difficult conclusion that to live meant doing the unimaginable. Confronting nature at its most furious, two brave young men risked their lives to hike through the mountains looking for help. A tale of astonishing bravery and adventure, Alive is much more than a survival story, it is a breathtaking saga of human courage

    The P.S. edition features an extra 16 pages of insights into the book, including interviews, recommended reading, and more.